Review: Pure

Title: Pure

Author: Julianna Baggott

Pure trilogy – First Book

Summary:

After the catastrophe, the Earth is almost destroyed. People who survived are damaged and are trying to survive. One of the survivors is Pressia, the girl who lost her parents and everything else during Detonations. She lives with her grandpa and she has to take care for both of them. When she’s out there in demolished word she’s thinking about the Dome where privileged and protected people live. People who escaped Detonations, who are unmarked and that’s why called Pures. Not like her and everyone else out there who are damaged, burned and marked forever. Pures found shelter in Dome before Detonations and are waiting that Earth will recover and they could go out again.
But in Dome lives Jereb who is one of the Pures. He wants to escape from Dome and find his mother because he thinks she’s still alive and out there somewhere. He manages to escape and he meets Pressia. They decide that they would find Jereb’s mother together but during the search they discover that things are not as they seem. Things they believed were true are not and they will discover a dreadful truth.


The first half of the book was really slowly for me. Not that I didn’t like it but there was not a lot of action. It’s not that it was boring in the way that I would want stop reading it but the whole point was on presentation of the situation and conditions. I must say that although it was a slow read I still think that author made a great work. The world is presented really realistic and while I read I could imagine everything so lively. But in the second part of the book is a lot of action and situation becomes complicated.

I also liked how realistic all characters are. When I started reading I couldn’t get used to them – for me, at the start they were unpleasant in their behavior but then I got used of them. I didn’t like Pressia at beginning because she was so unapproachable and unpleasant, but later I figured out that’s not unusual that she’s like that – she became like that because of the world she’s living in. Her life and lives of others were and still are hard and if they want to survive they can’t show their weakness. But after a while Pressia shows (and again others too) her soft part and desire for better life and living.

I found out that at first this book was intended for older readers but then also younger readers were reading it and now it’s marked as a young adult book. I understand why younger readers love it so much – it’s full of action and it’s interesting. But I still think that there are many other books which are more convenient for younger people. My opinion is that this is not such a quick read full of action, but readers have to show some patience. That bothered me the most.

But surely I will continue with reading this trilogy. Probably not immediately but soon. Another thing why I liked this book is, that it has nice and completed ending. There is no cliffhanger at the end and you don’t have to pick up the sequel as soon as you finish the first book. But it was interesting enough that I want to find all the answers to questions that are still uncovered.

Rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Review: Pure

Leave a Reply

