Reading Challenges 2015

October has ended and there are just two months until New Year. Usually, New Year doesn’t mean anything to me because I’m not doing any resolutions for next year. I’m not good at them and I can’t keep them, so there’s no point in making them, haha.
The only challenge that I set up is my reading challenge. I love to see a statistic of my reading habits at the end of my year – how many books did I read, how many stars I gave them, etc.. Probably, because reading is the only sphere where I’m effective, haha.

Every year I set up a reading challenge on Goodreads. And usually every year I want to read 50 books. I think this is the most realistic number that I can achieve during a year. This year I’m super excited because I already passed this number and I still have two full months to read. I can already say that this year was a good reading year for me.

Next challenge that I’m participating in it’s a challenge made by Bralnica. This is Slovenian forum for book lovers. And this year I joined their challenge for the first time. It includes 25 books of your choice with different themes. I still have to read 8 books. Those are:

  • book from the author who was under 30 when his/her book was published
  • book with a purple cover
  • book you own
  • book you already read
  • book you should read in school
  • book which takes place in mountains or snow
  • book which was recommended by member of Bralnica
  • true story

It’s pretty obvious that I still have to read books that are just not my cup of tea, but I will try to read them anyway.

The last challenge is my own. I have a habit of reading multiple books in the same time. I usually start reading a book and if I’m not so interested in it, I start with another one. But I still want to finish the first one. This is also a reason why I still have quite a few books on my currently reading bookshelf on Goodreads. And those are actually books that I’m reading for a long time now. And my goal is, to finish them until the end of this year.

  • On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  • The World of Poo by Terry Pratchett
  • The Merciless by Danielle Vega
  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
  • The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers
  • Caught by Harlan Coben
  • Everything I never told you by Celeste Ng
  • The Death Cure by James Dashner

And two that I’m currently reading (for real):

  • Little Bee by Chris Cleave
  • The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

I really want to start a New Year with a blank list. You know… New Year, a fresh start. I still have time and I hope that I will be successful in all challenges.

At the end of this year, I will post an update how it was and I will definitely write down something about my reading challenges and resolutions for next year.

Leave a Reply

