Library Book Haul

It was time again, to visit a library. My local library is still closed and I don’t have any information when will they reopen it. It will be renovated and it’s closed since July. I can’t wait to see a new one!
But because it’s closed I’m borrowing books elsewhere. I’m really pleased with today’s library haul and can’t wait to start reading.

But first, a brief summary of books I borrowed last time. Here is a list of books and the number of stars I gave them.

Marilyn désossée (Marilyn Deboned) – 1/5

Bone Season – 3/5

Pure – 4/5

iBoy – 4/5

The Walled City – 4/5

Little Bee – I didn’t finish this book. I read a half of it and gave up. I can’t say it was not good and I can’t point out what was my reason for not finishing it. Sometimes I’m just not in the mood for some types of books and maybe this happened here. I also won’t say that I never want to read it again. Maybe someday I will pick it up again. But right now there are so many other books I want to read and I didn’t want to waste my time with Little Bee.

For all books, except for Little Bee, you can find a review on my blog.


And now the books I borrowed today.

A wild ride through the night by Walter Moers
I heard about this book on some Youtube channel, but I can’t remember where.

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters

This book was a nominee for Booker prize in 2009. I own another book from this author, Fingersmith, and it’s amazing. And I just hope that this one will be too. Inscription on the book cover is promising a thrilling read and I’m hoping for that!

Caught by Harlan Coben

I often pick up a book by Coben, because he’s a great crime writer. Whenever I need relaxation, quick read, and a good crime novel, I pick up one of his books. And I always know that he won’t let me down.

The Collector by John Fowles

I heard only good things about this book. Every time I wanted to borrow it in a library it was unavailable, but I was lucky today!

And the mountains echoed by Khaled Hosseini

Hosseini is just great. I love all of his books. Seriously, if you haven’t read The Kite runner or A Thousand splendid suns, what are you waiting for? ;) This is his latest book and I was glad I got it. And I will use it for my Reading challenge 2015 for “read a book with purple cover” (Slovenian edition of the book has purple cover).

And after visiting library, I stopped in a cute little bookstore near it. I heard that they’re selling Penguin’s Little Black Classics and I had to check them out. I bought three of them because I didn’t want to exaggerate. But it was hard. They’re just so lovely!
What do you think about them? Own any?

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

8 thoughts on “Library Book Haul

    • Me too! I prefer borrowing books from a library than buying them. I never know if I would like a book or not. I buy just those books I know I will love.
      And about Little Bee… Like I said, I really don’t know what was wrong. Maybe I didn’t like it, because of writing. The book is written from Little Bee’s point of view and some other woman’s (Sarah’s) point. I really enjoyed Little Bee’s story, she’s funny and her story is sad and crazy at the same time. But Sarah’s story is completely opposite. And I was bored while reading it. And this was probably the reason why I stopped reading. And you should definitely give it a try, you never know… maybe you’ll love it! :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

