Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Title: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Author: Becky Albertalli19547856

Sixteen-year-old Simon is gay. Only one person knows for his secret and this is mysterious Blue, with whom Simon talks through emails. They don’t know each other true identities, except the fact that they are in the same high school.

Some day, Simon is incautious and he forgot to sign out on school’s computer, and some guy Martin takes advantage of that. He starts blackmailing Simon and threats that he will reveal all emails in public if Simon doesn’t help him with the girl he likes, Simon’s good friend Abby. Of course, Simon can’t say no but things never go as planned.

And during all the crazy stuff going on in Simon’s life, he continues exchanging emails with Blue. Their relationship grows stronger and more intimate. And with every new email, Simon wants to know more, who Blue actually is.


I loved this book! It was so sweet and nice. I enjoyed so much while reading it and I was sad when I finished it. And I really loved every single part of it.

First is Simon. He’s such a nice, and funny and sometimes awkward and geeky boy. I would love to have a friend like him. He’s a typical teenager with all the problems teenagers usually have. Every day he’s trying to find out, where he belongs. He’s confused with his life and wants to discover who he is. He’s confused but not only with his sexual identity. And haven’t we all been like that?

I loved how a relationship of Blue and Simon grew and became more and more stronger. And I couldn’t wait when Blue’s identity would be revealed. For every guy in a book, I thought that he would be the one.

Simon has the best family and friends. They’re all been supportive and by his side when he needed them. But many times I had felt that he’s fed up of his family. And again, didn’t we all be through that? I remember how I thought that everything my parents did was just stupid and they overreacted but now when I’m looking back, I know they wanted best for me. And in the book were exactly the same situations.

It’s been a while sice I read any LGBT book and I’m glad I picked this one next. Because it’s not only about coming out, but it’s also about everyday problems we all have.

I shouldn’t care if stupid people call me a stupid word, and I shouldn’t care what people think of me. But I always care.

Yeah, we all do.

Rating: 5/5

Did you read this book and if you did what did you think about it? Do you have any other LGBT book recommendations?

4 thoughts on “Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

  1. I’m just about finished this and I am absolutely loving it; it is such a fantastic story :) I love all the vivid and lovable characters and relationships she’s created in this story. This is definitely going on my favorites list. If you are looking for other LGBT novels and have not read Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe yet, I would very highly recommend giving that a try!
    Great review :D

    Like

    • Thank you! I already read Aristotle and Dante… and I loved it also! But still one of my favourites is Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green. It’s also my favourite book by Green and it’s simply amazing. I’ll probably just check some lists on Goodreads to find something with this topic :)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this book too! If you are looking for other LGBT books, I really really recommend a book called Know Not Why by Hannah Johnson – it is basically my favourite book I’ve read this year! The writing style of the book and the general feeling of it was quite similar to Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and it’s really sweet and funny. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

