Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey and here is official group site: Top 5 Wednesday. You can read all about the group and challenges there.

Topic for today’s Wednesday is:

Disappointing Eye Candy

(books that looked beautiful, but were awful)

I must admit, that I don’t judge a book by its cover. I’m usually not an impulsive buyer of books and if I’m in bookstore or library I always read what book is about before I buy/borrow it.

But still there were some books, that I picked up just because of the amazing cover, and was disappointed after finishing them.

Here is my list, in no particular order:

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

6068551

I still like the cover, I think it’s pretty. And I had felt that everyone talked about this series, so, of course, I had to read it. It was a disaster. I hated it so much! I was actually considering about not finishing it because it was so awful. But eventually I read it, but surely I won’t continue with series. No way.

State of Wonder by Ann Patchett

9118135

I love this cover! It looks old and like it was handmade in some monastery, haha.

The story is set in Amazon rainforest, where Dr. Marina Singh searches for a missing mentor of hers. The synopsis was just wonderful and interesting, but the book was just… omg! The story was just ridiculous and characters were awful.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905

Cute cover. And all the hype about this book. No way that I wouldn’t read it. And I did. And after finishing it, I realized that I and Rainbow Rowell, just don’t get along. I didn’t like any of her books and it was the same with Fangirl.

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

52529

This is the only book that I ever bought, without knowing, what it’s about. And what a mistake that was!

I’m really ashamed to tell you this but… I thought that this book is a historical mystery, full of unbelievable medieval secrets, action, monks and suspense and everything else what makes reading exciting.

It’s a self-help book.

(You probably can’t imagine my disappointment in the moment when I figured that out.)

As White as Snow by Salla Simukka

25654346

Slovenian cover for this book is really pretty (English one is kinda boring). It’s the second book in series and I was excited to read it. And the cover is really nice. And that was all.

 

Do you read/buy books just because of the amazing cover? What was your disappointing eye candy?

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

    • I always love to hear different opinions! :)
      I don’t have anything against self-help books, I did read The Secret after buying it. And it’s not bad and I’m glad it helped you. Maybe I should read it again and, this time, more carefully ;) But I was disappointed because I expected something completely different :D

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

