Top 5 Wednesday: Biggest Book Hangovers

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey and here is official group site: Top 5 Wednesday. You can read all about the group and challenges there.

Today’s topic is: Biggest Book Hangovers

Oh yes, I know exactly how it is if you have a book hangover. But, usually, I get it from good books. It never happened to me, that I would read such a bad book that I couldn’t pick up another. Nope. But it happened that I read books which impressed me so much that I just couldn’t read any other after that (for a while). And here are few of them:

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan6567017

I have absolutely loved this book! It’s one of my all time favourites and definitely, favourite by John Green.

It made me happy and sad and I laughed – ok, I didn’t cry but I never cry when I read a book. But it’s simply amazing book. And I wanna reread it so badly right now.

77203The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

A heartbreaking story about unusual friendship in Afghanistan. Hosseini knows how to write wonderful stories about love, friendship and my heart is broken every time when I read his book.

The Road by Cormac McCarthy6288

A post-apocalyptic novel about destroyed America where father and son are walking around, trying to survive. They have nothing and nothing is left. They don’t know if they will survive but still, they have each other.

Another one that I just have to reread. Amazing story and I can’t believe that despite the fact I read this book many times, I always feel such emptiness when I finish it.

6690798The Passage by Justin Cronin

I know I’m repeating myself with always adding this book to my lists but I can’t help myself. I was in shock when I finished it – I wanted more, I wanted to know everything and it was amazing and scary and I didn’t want to read any other book after that for a while.

Blindness by Jose Saramago2526

I read this book more than 10 years ago and I still remember all the feelings I had when finishing it. Simply amazing. It’s about unusual epidemy of white blindness when all people become blind. People are afraid and lost, they forget about moral and ethics which leads to chaos.

 

Do you usually have a book hangover after good or bad book? And of course, I would love to hear about your biggest book hangovers. You can write about them in comments or just paste a link to your blog and I will check them out!

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Biggest Book Hangovers

  1. I finished The Kite Runner in the middle of the night and kept sobbing like a baby as I fall asleep!!! Couldn’t really continue with any other book for a while after that 😭

    Liked by 1 person

    • Like I said it many times before, this book is one of my favourites. I’m not easily scared but it’s totally creepy and I couldn’t put it down.
      I think that people are talking about it because the trilogy will be finished in May when the last book will be published. I will definitely reread both, first and second until then.
      You should give it a try and I would love to hear your thoughts about it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I would say it’s much more than just a horror book. Sure, it was creepy but reading about worst aspects of human nature which appear after the catastrophe and everything that are people able to do just to survive, those things are making this book so amazing. I highly recommend reading it.
      And, I didn’t know that there was a movie also. Is it worth seeing?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh man i can’t answer you because i haven’t watched the whole thing.
        I legit watched a bit of the starting and then i got too freaked out!
        I’m definitely going to read it now though.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

