Book review: City of Fallen Angels

Title: City of Fallen Angels

Author: Cassandra Clare6752378

Two months after the bloody battle, life is back on the track. Clary is in New York, where she’s training to become Shadowhunter and helping her mother with planning a wedding. She’s happy that she can finally enjoy with Jace, with whom they’re finally a couple now.

However, soon the first body of killed Shadowhunter appears and then another. It’s obvious that somebody is intentionally killing Shadowhunters, just to spoil a peace between them and Downworlders, which could lead to another war. Of course, vampires are the first suspect, which doesn’t surprise Simon. But he has already enough of his own problems. His mother just found out that he’s a vampire and kicked him out, he has no place to stay and besides that he has love problems. He doesn’t have time for Clary and her problems with Jace, who is drifting away from her.


If I enjoyed reading first three books from the series, I couldn’t say the same for this book. This book is completely average and nothing special. On the contrary, I thought it was dull. There was just a lot of whining from all characters.

The only thing I liked was Simon being in the foreground (in previous books it was Clary). I liked Simon a lot from previous books because he’s such a likable character, so when I started reading this book I thought it would be awesome because it is written from his perspective. It’s true, that reader can find out more about him, his life and life of vampires, but Simon is not funny or likable anymore. He’s a coward who is dating two girls at a time, just because he can’t decide which one he likes more. Ok, he even doesn’t know if he’s in a relationship with any of them. Because he’s too afraid to talk about that.

Instead of enjoying in their fresh love and chance of being a couple, Clary and Jace are distancing from each other. Jace is being stubborn and depressed most of the time and Clary doesn’t know what’s going on. Of course, none of them would sit down and talk about their problems. It’s better to ignore things.

Alec and Magnus are more in the background in this book – I think they actually appear in second half of the book because they were in vacations. When they finally return, they also fight all the time and blaming each other for things from the past and the ones from future that actually didn’t even happened yet. Again, they won’t discuss their problems, it’s so much more fun to not talk with each other.

You can probably see already what was mostly going on in this book. And what lacked in this book – an honest talk or just honesty in general. It’s amazing how things could be easier if these people would just talk to each other (but probably it would not be good for a book).

The plot would be so much more interesting if people would act mature. But because of the drama, I couldn’t focus on anything else. And even that little action and tension that was part of the plot was completely lost amongst constant whining. All those relationship problems, depression and darkness, instead of happiness and joy, which I expected after the third book.

I will continue with the series, I already borrowed next book from a library and I hope it will be better. Because I was really disappointed after finishing this one.

Rating: 2/5 stars

What did you think about this book? Do we have similar thoughts or you don’t agree with me? Leave a comment and let me know what you think!

3 thoughts on “Book review: City of Fallen Angels

  1. Sorry you didn’t enjoy City of Fallen Angels as much. I’ve read the whole series, so I thought that this book was probably my least favorite of the series. I thought that City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire were much better, so I hope you enjoy them. Great review! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It happens. Not all books in the series can be good :) Some are better, some worse. Like I said, it was not so bad that I would not continue with reading and I’m actually looking forward to next book.

      Like

  2. Pingback: City of Fallen Angels (Mortal Instruments #4) by Cassandra Clare |

Leave a Reply

