Book Review: Gut: The Inside Story of Our Body’s Most Underrated Organ

Title: Gut: The Inside Story of Our Body’s Most Underrated Organ

Author: Giulia Enders23013953

The human gut is probably the most overlooked organ in the human body. Nobody is particularly interested in it and people normally don’t think about what happens to the food after we swallow it.

This book, however, deals exactly with this – what actually happens with food once it leaves our mouth and comes to the stomach. In book Gut, it’s explained what is a process of digestion, what’s happening with food between it and what’s happening in human intestine even though people are not aware of all the happening inside them.


I wanted to read this book just because it was really successful in Slovenia after the translation was published. Yes, I usually succumb to the general enthusiasm and hype about books and even though I’m not interested in a topic, I still want to read it. Because if everybody wants it, I want it too! And because everyone was so impressed with this book, I thought that it has to be something about it. And after I read it, I understand all the hype. I don’t regret reading it because this book really is good and worth of reading!

This book was fantastic because I discovered a whole new world inside of me, a part that I never thought about it and this is also a purpose of this book – to show people, what an amazing machine we have inside our body and we are not even aware of it.

It’s a nonfiction book, scientifically written because after all, the author is a medical student. There are a lot of medical researchers included but it’s written in a language and in a way that everyone can understand. It’s written for casual readers with none or little medical knowledge and it’s simple, interesting and fun. The result is this educational book. The most entertaining parts of this book for me were the ones about how and why do we poop, how it’s best to sit on a toilette, how food travels through our digestive system and what’s happening with it. Yes, I learned about some of this stuff in school, but I forgot a lot and I don’t remember this thing beeing so funny! I refreshed my knowledge of how the human gut is build, which microbes do we have inside our body and why are they actually there. In a humorous way (but educational) is explained why do people vomit, have diarrhea, constipation, and so on.

This book was really entertaining and I read it almost in one day. I learned a lot and I will use the information from this book in future. As a reader, I found a lot of practical information that can help to find out and learn about eating habits and improve them. But of course, this is still not a medical book which would deal with really specific topics – although there are some chapters, which are dealing with food allergies and intolerance to certain foods, this book is not offering specific solutions for people with that kind of problems. It just helps you in an easy way to explain how things work and what can/could lead to some problems. And it could be a great start if you later want to explore more about this topics.

If you want to read something interesting and informative, then I would certainly recommend this book to you. I believe that many people who think that they are not interested in this subject would be surprised how they will enjoy this book if they would give it a chance. And funny illustrations makes this book even more exciting.

Rating: 5/5 stars

Did you read any other book that is similar to this one? Please, leave a comment below.

 

Leave a Reply

