Book Review: City of Lost Souls

Title: City of Lost Souls

Author: Cassandra Clare8755776

Despite the fact that the demon Lilith was defeated in a bloody battle, Clary, Jace, and others cannot enjoy happiness. Because of Lilith’s magic, are Jace and his brother Sebastian inseparable bounded and missing. The Clave is looking for both but they are aware of truth – they can’t harm one, without destroying the other. Clary is determined to find a solution and is trying to find Jace on her own, while Alec, Magnus, Isabelle and Simon ask demons for help.


I was so glad, that this book was better than the previous one. The story was still focused on Clary and Jace but they were more in the background and other characters came into the front. Reading about others was so much more interesting and despite the fact there is still too much drama in their lives for my taste, I still prefer reading about them and their love life than about Clary and Jace. I still like Simon and Magnus the most, though even their relationship became too complicated. Mostly because of Alec who become really strange and his behavior in a relationship was unacceptable for me and I wasn’t surprised at all about the disentanglement at the end. I also liked Maia and Jordan, although they were too immature at times. If I would have to choose one character from this series who has never annoyed me while reading, I would easily choose Magnus. The reason is probably his immortality and all the experience that he got during that time. All the others are childish, they are whining all the time and mindlessly getting into impossible and stupid situations.

I never liked Clary and also in this book she hasn’t left the best impression. Her immaturity, her love for Jace and her blindly worshiping of him really got on my nerves. I don’t understand why in almost each chapter, I had to read about his breathtaking beauty and his chiseled body – yes, I understood he’s hot the first time. There is no need to repeat yourself (if these descriptions would be thrown from the book, I assume that it would be at least 50 pages shorter).

I also felt uncomfortable while reading about Sebastian’s flattering to Clary. I don’t mind reading about sexual allusions, but he’s her brother! Eww!

At least the story was better than in a previous book. More action, a lot was going on and I liked how individual elements linked to one another in the end. Sebastian made this story more interesting and even though he’s a villain, I like his character. Ok, with an exception of seducing Clary (which I already mentioned but I can’t get this out of my head).

This book was not bad but I would enjoy more if there would not be all the teenage drama, which bored me. I understand that it’s probably necessary to include some romantic conflicts to make things more interesting but seriously in this series everything is complicated. Nobody can be just happy. I am glad, that I’m almost finished with the series because almost all characters get on my nerves and the story is no longer able to weight out their stupidity.

The end of a book was great because nothing shocking happened and I can wait with reading next book for a while. But probably I won’t because I still want to know how everything will end. And I really want to finish this series.

Rating: 4/5 stars

What did you think about the book City of Lost Souls? Did you like characters and story?

 

Leave a Reply

