Book Review: Delirium

Title: Delirium

Author: Lauren Oliver11614718

Delirium is a love story in a world, where love is forbidden. Scientists have discovered a medicine with wich they can cure and eradicate the love from society. Because love is dangerous and if society wants to function in a normal way, all members of the society must be immune to it. So, when people turn 18, they undergo a surgical procedure and they’re cured after it. Considering on person interests, they get a partner to marry, have children and live “happy” life without stress, worries, and problems.

Her whole life, Lena is waiting for her surgical procedure, but just before it, something unexpected happens. Just months before the procedure, she falls in love and discovers, how beautiful love and freedom are.


The story is set in (near) future where love is considered as a bad thing and where society consists of individuals who are subordinate to the system. People are living without worries, without choices, without emotions. They reconciled with total control, after all, this is the only system they know and that kind of life totally suits them. The idea about the world without love and emotions seemed strange and really unbelievable to me. I had trouble to picture that kind of world, especially because the story is told from Lena’s perspective and she’s not cured yet. This made it even more unbelievable to me.

Lena, at first, can’t wait to be “cured” – she’s pleased with a promise about peaceful life, without any concerns and that her life will be controlled by others who would also make a decisions instead of her (I agree, this sounds really pleasing – sometimes). However, things, of course, change when she meets Alex. I was surprised how quickly she fell in love with him, particularly because she didn’t know him before, didn’t know anything about him and not to mention, that falling in love is forbidden in her society. I would think that people would be more carefully with that.

None of the characters impressed me. They were ok, but that’s pretty much all that I have to say about them. I actually didn’t care much about Lena or Alex. Lena’s best friend Hana was the most interesting to me and maybe she’s the one that I wanted to know more about, but unfortunately, I didn’t. Because she was just there when Lena needed her and that’s all.

It also disturbed me, that many times it was repeated, how people are controlled and that society bases on terrorizing and controlling but still Lena had no problems walking around after curfew and doing things she shouldn’t do.

Despite the fact, that this is a love story more than anything else, I still enjoyed reading it. Normally, I don’t read love stories because I don’t enjoy them, but this book was nicely written and not cheesy at all. And it has just enough action to keep me reading. I must mention that language is rich and poetic and precisely because of this, it was such a pleasant read. I didn’t expect such a beautiful language in YA novel.

Unfortunately, I was not impressed with the ending. Somehow, I assumed that something “shocking” would happen but still, I think that this ending was totally unnecessary. I was not shocked at all and to be honest, it seems to me what may happen in next book.

This book is one of those, that wasn’t actually that good, but I still want to know what will happen next and that’s why I will read the sequel. Because I really want to find out if my theory is correct.

Rating: 3/5 stars

Did you read Delirium and other books from series? What do you think about them? Let me know in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Delirium

  1. I read this book in 2014. I don’t remember all the details, however I still know that I found it very interesting. It’s somehow different from all the other dystopian books but at the same time it’s just like every other book in this genre. I loved the ending, of course I knew something like that will happend, but I was still shocked. Will you read the other books in series?
    p.s. If you really liked Hana’s story you can read more in her short story :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, what a dilemma! Should I reply to you in English or Slovenian language? :)
      Yes, I will continue with series. Just because I want to know what will happen. Probably soon, before I forget everything, haha.
      And I didn’t know there’s Hana’s short story. I will definitely check it. Thank you for the recommendation! :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

