Book Review: The Wise Man’s Fear

Title: The Wise Man’s Fear

Author: Patrick Rothfuss1215032

On the second day, Kvothe continues with storytelling about his life. His story is written down by Scribe and Bast is keeping them company.

The story continues where the first ended. Kvothe continues with his study in University and his feud with fellow student Ambrose is still not over. Because of the circumstances, Kvothe decides, he’ll take some time off and he travels to Severen city, far from  University, where he’s serving to Maer Alveron. Soon he employs Kvothe to lead a group of mercenaries in the hunt of bandits. Kvothe hunts them but on the way back he comes upon beautiful Felurian and after that he continues his journey to an unknown country of Ademre. But wherever he goes, he’s looking for mysterious Chandrians who killed his parents.


I’ve been waiting for this book for so long! I read the first book in Slovenian translation and then I had to wait that the second one would also be translated. And finally, I had a chance to read it! But it was so worth of waiting because I liked the second book of The Kingkiller Chronicles even more than a first one.

Kvothe is still one of most likable characters for me. He’s charming but not without mistakes and so nice and funny. And precisely because of the mixture of good and bad qualities, you just have to love him! I think his character is realistic and I already miss him. But a thing I loved the most was his relationship with his friends and their (and Kvothe’s) humor. Their relations were so relaxed and full of teasing that I just wanted to be part of their group.

Wilem and Simmon are comical fellows but they’re always there when Kvothe needs them. Even in book #2, they have saved his ass more than once even though it was completely his fault to get into the mess. Oh yes, Kvothe is still reckless and he doesn’t learn anything from his mistakes.

What bothered me, was Kvothe’s relationship with Denna. I just don’t like her. With every read page less actually. For me, she’s exploitative, not serious and selfish. I think that she’s making a fool of Kvothe all the time and I just wish he would find some other girl to fool around with, haha.

This book is even longer than previous one but I finished with reading quickly. I was so joyful when I read about University, students, and teachers there. Feud with Ambrose remained but it was pushed in the background this time and I must admit that I missed Ambrose a little bit.

Language and the way of describing everything are still perfect. In more that one occasion, I was surprised how effortless was Rothfuss writing about music as its describing would be the easiest thing in the world. But it’s not just the music that’s pictured amazing, but also people, places and everything else. But I have a feeling that this is also Rothfuss’s weakness.  There was a lot of describing, many details and events that otherwise improved the story and the readers understanding of it, but sometimes while reading I wondered why was I actually reading all of this. Do not get me wrong, I enjoyed every sentence, but this was because of writing, and not because I would be so interested in plot events.

The Wise Man’s Fear is amazing fantasy novel and I would recommend it to anyone who likes this genre. But be also prepared, that you will not find out anything new, which really surprised me. I thought I would get at least some answers in this book, but I only have more questions. I guess that means, the third book will be even longer than this one.

Rating: 5/5 stars

What do you think about The Kingkiller Chronicles? Did you like the first book more than second? Share your thought with me in comments.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Wise Man’s Fear

Leave a Reply

