Book Review: Gemina

Title: Gemina

Authors: Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff29236299

A sequel to Illuminae offers new characters and a new story. In the foreground, there’s a story about space station Heimdall, whose people are not aware of what happened on Kerenza and on other space shifts.

Hanna is station captain’s daughter, dating a nice guy who’s working for her father. She also likes to draw, she loves her dad but yet, she’s often bored because there’s not much going on on a space station. Sometimes she hangs out with Nik, who is a member of a crime family. When the elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik join forces against them and their evil plan. They just want to survive and save the people on the station.


In some way, this book is a continuation of the first book, despite the fact, that there are new characters and a different place with a new story. I really liked the first book. I gave it 5 stars and I couldn’t wait for a sequel. The story was interesting but especially attractive was a format of the book – documents, e-mail correspondence, … That really was some different and interesting look, but above all, completely unique reading experience. Therefore, I was eagerly waiting for Gemina to be published.

I liked that there were new characters in this book. It seemed exciting and daring move. I liked Nik, his sense of humor and how he kept his cheerful nature even in difficult situations. I enjoyed his jokes and really thought he was funny. I couldn’t say same for Hanna. I didn’t like her at first. I thought she is spoiled daddy’s girl who always gets what she wants. Still, I think her character improved through the story and she showed her toughness by the end of the book which was great. But still, she was that kind of character that I don’t care much about. Most of all, I liked Ella, Nik’s little cousin. Smart, funny, realistic and sarcastic – I loved her! There were not many other characters, except the bad guys. Overall, I was not impressed by characters at all.

The story itself was ok. I did have problems at moments where I was confused about what’s going on and it was hard for me to follow the story line. Not to mention, that I was also bored between reading. I still can’t figure out why because there’s a lot of going on, there were many plot twists and everything.

Nevertheless, the format makes this book entertaining, just like in the first book. But it’s much more “narrative” as the first book was. So it was easier to read it but I still missed it. It’s so much more fun to read documents, files, and other stuff than just an ordinary texts. After all, this is what makes this books so special. And I was disappointed about that.

Yes, the story is full of action, unexpected twists, some were better, some worse. I really missed old AIDAN *sigh*. And that other, unexpected enemies that appear in the middle of the book…. really?

Yes, the book was ok. It was an interesting read and also funny and sad. But I really think that Illuminae was the book where every single page was well thought and developed to the last detail. But Gemina doesn’t have this. Nevertheless, I’m looking forward to the third book, where I hope, all together will join forces in the battle against BeiTech.

Rating: 3/5 stars

You can also check my Illuminae review here.

What do you think about Illuminae Files? Did you like Gemina? What are your thoughts about this book? 

 

Leave a Reply

